Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Washington County)

Default Desert Eagle .50 Stovepiping?

So, I've been considering purchasing a DE .50 for a little while now and it just so happens that a friend of mine has one and wants to sell it. However, at this current point in time he says he needs to get it fixed because it keeps stovepiping and he is getting it fixed before he sells it; no complaint here regarding that.

My question here is: Is this something that DE owners have experienced and, is it a minor or major problem? After he gets it fixed would you say the problem will be fixed and the gun be reliable? Could the problem be something simple like the magazines? I have no experience with DE's so I would like to have some idea of what I may be going on. You can never do too much research prior to a purchase, ya know..

I really don't want to buy something if it's going to be more of a problem rather than a pleasure. I do trust him and don't think he'd sell it to me if he thought the gun was not going to function properly.

Let me say thanks and I appreciate any and all responses/help here.
    "Confiscating is not stealing! I warned him!" -Valentin16

(Cumberland County)

Default Re: Desert Eagle .50 Stovepiping?

Are you sure it's not user induced failure? Happens a lot with the big guns.

The very first time I shot one I kept bumping the slide stop with my thumb under recoil.

If your friend knows for sure something is wrong with the gun you could always call Magnum Research.
    Selling off a a sizeable Spyderco collection here

Stove pipes come from a number of things such as ammo no having enough charge (too weak), recoil spring too stiff, wrist too limp, and even faulty ejectors/extractors. If you go one thing at a time, they can generally be sorted out 100% of the time.