Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Bucks County)

Default What am I doing wrong? 3 failed deer seasons...

I have been hunting SGL 157 and 139 for three years and have yet to see a deer in-season. I have scouted multiple areas and found plenty of sign, and have seen plenty of deer during the small game season.

However, every year I get goose eggs when deer hunting.

This year I have stepped up the effort significantly. I put a stand right on a main trail where I spotted a solid 6 pt earlier this year. I was just out this afternoon and there are fresh tracks in the snow right along the trail, which means there have been deer through there last night or in the morning.

In the beginning of buck season I hunted 3B and saw a few doe, one that I jumped in the morning on my way to the stand. Even with crunchy snow I was able to circle around and get a "shot" lined up (antlerless wasn't open, nor did i have tags), so it would seem that I am capable of being quiet enough. I am using scentless laundry soap and a cover scent spray. Obviously state game lands have huge pressure on them, and I have not been to 157 this season as it was completely overrun with hunter last season and 139 seems to be overlooked. I did see a gut pile earlier this week fairly close to my stand, so deer CAN be found/taken in the area. It's not like I expect to march into the woods and land a monster buck, but after 3 seasons I haven't seen a SINGLE legal deer, buck or doe, during the appropriate season. I have 5C doe tags and have no preference on what kind of deer I take, just looking for meat in the freezer.

Is there something I am missing here???

Default Re: What am I doing wrong? 3 failed deer seasons...