Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Home based FFL

Default Home based FFL

I am new to this form and apologies if this has ben asked if it has tell me the link I need to find the info.
    What I would like to know is can you still get a FFL from your home and what all is needed to do so? any info. would be very much appreciated thank you for your time and this forum.

(Chester County)

Default Re: Home based FFL

You can always try but know that the ATF will call your township and ask if you are zoned for operating a business out of your home. I had my FFL for an apartment until pres Clinton. It was not renewed when the township told ATF I was not zoned for business.

I had one up until 2001-2002…The ATF calling the township must be fairly recent.

In any case, these days I wouldn't touch a home FFL at all. Not worth potentially inviting the man into your life like that. Plus, even if you use it do transfers and stuff, having people you do not know well come into your home is not a very smart idea.

(Armstrong County)

What reason would you have to have a home FFL that would outweigh having The Man make a few visits to your home?

I've thought about the same thing a few times but could not find a reason where I wanted a FFL more than unpleasant visits to audit paperwork along with inviting strangers to my home.

I'd prefer to stay under the radar and pay a tad more.

(Montgomery County)

He obviously wants to make a business of it.

Red face Re: Home based FFL

Quote Originally Posted by mbinpa View Post
    You can always try but know that the ATF will call your township and ask if you are zoned for operating a business out of your home. I had my FFL for an apartment until pres Clinton. It was not renewed when the township told ATF I was not zoned for business.
    Get yer house approved for what is called [here in 10aC] a.."incidental home business"..like....ummm......Amway or Avon etc.