Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default Modern Muzzleloader

This is my first year hunting with a crossbow. I got into it only because I like hunting and wanted to have more opportunities; not just limited to the 2 week rifle season. It's been a real challenge for sure. It's just hard to get them to come in close enough....

Been out 3 times and haven't been able to even get a shot. I've seen a couple but just too far based on my capabilities. It's been frustrating but fun too. I won't be able to get back out until late archery season...I'll try again then if I don't get tagged out in rifle season.

I'm thinking about getting a muzzle loader for next season. Same reason...just to increase my hunting opportunities.

Any recommendations for a good modern muzzle loader? Hopefully one that won't break the bank. Any other pointers / pitfalls on muzzle loading?

Thanks in advance.
    The only purpose for which power can be rightfully exercised over any member of a civilized community, against his will, is to prevent harm to others.

(Wayne County)

Default Re: Modern Muzzleloader

Savage M 10. Screw Thompson and S&W. Remember you can only use inlines at the beginning of the year, flint lock at the end. Lots of states allow smoke poles with scopes and some don't just in case you ever want to go west young man.

(Westmoreland County)

Well, it depends upon how big your bank is. I already owned my ProHunter frame and stock, and I had a .223 barrel that I no longer used, so I swapped it along with some cash for a T\C 209 X 50 in-line barrel. All I can tell you is that with using Blackhorn powder, 100gr. and the Hornady 325gr. bullet in a Sabot, this is just a rifle without brass. Out to 300 yards, from a rest (I have a 3x9 Leupold scope on it) nothing will escape the bullet if (IF) I do my job.

Dave