Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Delaware County)

Default How far in is too far for Deer

So I'm finally planning to go deer hunting this season after a long break. Most of the summer I have been hiking around State Game Land in Berks and Lehigh where the Appalachian Trail and other hiking trails cut thru. I have a few choice locations which are not close to road access and I hope are off the beaten path of most other hunters.

The problem is I think I may be overdoing it. These areas were picked out in the summer where I only had a daypack. I was not carrying a rifle and dragging a buck. One location is 3.5 miles in, but the last mile will be mostly downhill on the way back out. The other spot is 2 miles, but in would involve going thru some bad boulder fields. I really like the first location though. I might also get a plastic sheet sled if it helps any.

This is my first time hunting on State Game Lands. I use to hunt on private property and usually I wouldn't need to walk more that a mile from the Cabin or my truck.

I hike a lot and I'm in decent shape, but I'm in my 40's so I'm no spring chicken. I'm I biting off more that I can chew, or am I worrying too much. Also are there any tips and tricks from those who hunt a good distance away from their vehicle?

Default Re: How far in is too far for Deer

For me 3.5 miles is too far to drag a buck and I am in good shape. I hunt within 300 yards of where I park and I still don't drag. I either move my vehicle closer via an adjacent dirt road or call my brother-in-law to get access to the farm tractor.

Have you considered any of the two wheeled carts they sell at sporting goods stores?

(Bucks County)

A plastic sled would be bare minimum IMO, but possibly a better choice than a wheeled cart depending on terrain. Keep in mind the timing too- if you bag one near closing time it will take even longer in the dark.

(Chester County)