Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Ideas for training

I am new to shooting since June of 2013, I have been to three differnent ranges and have taken classes. When I ask about taking NRA first steps for pistols on basic pistol, they told me that I do not need it and that I should save my money. Can anyone offer suggestions for additional training or even a so-call school for shooting. I don't mind learing but I don't want to waste my time, and I don't want to go to a SPECIAL FORCES level type of school. I know that I do need to learn more about shooting other than going to the shooting range and dry-firing at home. Can anyone offer suggestions I am open minded, but I don't want to be gung-ho either. I live in Northeast Philadelphia if that can be of any assistance as to where I am from and where I could travel for classes.
    Thanks

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: Ideas for training

there are several questions you should ask your self before deciding on what type of training you think you need vs what you don't think you need.

1. Is shooting just a hobby or is a tool for providing protection for yourself and your family.

2. If it is a hobby is it recreational or do you want to compete

3. If it is a tool for protection, is it in the home only or will you carry also.

4. Apply 1-3 to the types of firearms you have.

Once you answer those questions you will have a better idea of what type of training you want to invest in.

I have had some good sessions with local trainers.

http://www.standarddeviationarms.com/

These are some great guys to work with, but I know there are members here that are also trainers.

(Northampton County)

Why were you told the Basic Pistol courses would be a waste of your time? Did the person not like them in general, or did he/she feel that your skills are beyond those courses?