Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Detroit (but Pittsburgh is always home), Michigan

Default SQL Certification?

Thought I'd post this here in case anyone could help me out.

I think it will help my career a lot to learn how to use SQL, and perhaps get certification. I have not used it much up to this point, but I understand the basics of databases, and have always been able to learn quickly.

Only problem is I'm not sure where to start.

Since I'm a beginner, would it be best to start off taking classes for certification?

Can anyone recommend a good place to start? -- I am in the Pittsburgh area.

Thanks!

(Chester County)

Default Re: SQL Certification?

Classes are always good, but you can teach yourself too. If you have ms access or SQL server you can build queries with their tools and look at the underlying SQL. SQL really isn't need though if you want to do analytical work. My partner gets data from our database using Crystal reports, or Access and he doesn't know any SQL... He's been doing it that way for about 12 years
    Last edited by SteveXD; May 7th, 2008 at 04:57 PM.

(Allegheny County)

i'd suggest starting off with the more general concept of relational database systems management and querying databases.

there isn't actually a whole lot to SQL (Structured Query Language) itself.

the crux of the issue is being able to analyze data, figure out the most efficient way to store it, and develop the logic to pull the relevant data (without a bunch of extraneous data) from the database.

this logic is not dependent on SQL, though SQL is a great tool for building the logic. but, knowing SQL will be meaningless without understanding the more fundamental concept of relational database structures and querying relational databases.