Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (York County)

Default Properly cleaning S&W Revolvers

I am new to owning and although I expected Youtube to have a plethora of great instructional vids on properly cleaning, I found many were not as thorough as I had hoped. I'm looking for details/suggestions for cleaning and maintaining a S&W 642CT. My S&W manual says follow the instructions provided by the cleaning kit and the cleaning kit says to follow the directions from gun manufacturer ... sigh ...

(Cumberland County)

Default Re: Properly cleaning S&W Revolvers

Hoppes Number 9. Apply to toothbrush. Scrub away the black stuff. Finish clearing away black stuff with cotton patches or even paper towels.

Procure a barrel cleaning device. You may use a brass brush designed for this purpose, nylon brush, or even a Boresnake.

http://www.hoppes.com/boresnake

You can also use cotton patches pushed through the barrel with a rod and Hoppes Number 9, but typically you should clean from chamber to crown. Kinda hard to do that with a rod on a J frame. Boresnake works great. You can also use it to clean out the chambers in the cylinder.

If you shoot a lot of lead ( not copper jacketed) bullets we'll have to address a slightly more aggressive barrel cleaning, and there are also ways to clean up the cylinder face, which will get dirty and discolored over time.

For now stick to the basics, doesn't sound like you need to worry about all that yet.
    Selling off a a sizeable Spyderco collection here

(Montgomery County)

Ignore the videos on how to remove the side plate, for the time being.
    No reason to open that can of worms.

is the rev. new or used? the q tips w/ wooden sticks helps clean the small areas. only have found them at Big Lots. suggestion, smithandwessonforum.com. a excellent forum/ http for info of your rev. if you have trouble finding the site IM me. several might come up. it has a blue front setup.

(Philadelphia County)