Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Monroe County)

Default help finishing ar upper

So I am in the process of build an AR Pistol. It is my first build and the lower went together rather smoothly. The upper on the other hand is giving me some issues since I dont think I have all of the proper tools for the task. Is there anyone in the Poconos area that would be willing to lend a hand?

(Lackawanna County)

Default Re: help finishing ar upper

What issues are you having? Tools needed sre very minimal

(Monroe County)

well i dont have the blocks to put it in a vice so i am not sure that im getting everything properly tight. i also need a couple roll pins since i dont think i got one for the gas block and bent the one for the forward assist. My main issue though is that the compensator doesnt line up properly when it gets tight. im not sure what to do there either!

(Lehigh County)

Need a vise block for the upper to get the barrel torque right. you need a crush washer to get the brake to line up.

(Lycoming County)

Quote Originally Posted by Pa.Sniper View Post
    Need a vise block for the upper to get the barrel torque right. you need a crush washer to get the brake to line up.
    You can also use a barrel extension torque tool, which puts less stress on the aluminum upper receiver. I've come to prefer those.

http://www.brownells.com/gunsmith-to...prod27452.aspx

You clamp the barrel nut wrench in a bench vise, then bear down with this tool and a 1/2" drive wrench, and torque the barrel down with minimum stress on the upper.

(Monroe County)

I have the crush washer, and there is no way is going to line up right. ..

(Beaver County)

Quote Originally Posted by xtcjpr13 View Post
    I have the crush washer, and there is no way is going to line up right. ..