Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Butler County)

Default i got a Galco for my 1911

finally got a good holster for my 1911 which i have never carried before. usually i carry either a sr40c or a shield. i get home and im reading the paperwork with the holster and it is saying since it has a thumb break then the 1911 should be carried chamber empty and hammer down. i like having the retention of a thumb break but i also want to carry it cocked and locked. anyone carry with this type of holster cocked and locked or should i take it back and get one without a thumb break? thanks

(York County)

Default Re: i got a Galco for my 1911

Desantis Cocked and Locked, FTW...

http://www.desantisholster.com/store...Break-Scabbard

I've been using this for about 2 years now.

While many claim to support the right, precious few support the practice.

(Butler County)

this is the model that i have and i paid $50 new. http://www.usgalco.com/HolsterPG3.as...2100&GunID=257

the picture on the site shows a much wider back strap than mine has. mine actually looks closer to yours but its not cut out around the safety on the right side but it doesnt matter on mine because the thumb safety is only on the left side and the left side of the thumb break is raised due to the button snap. i dont see a problem with me using this holster cocked and locked.

(Bucks County)

1911's are made to be carried 'cocked and locked'. Every holster made will accommodate a 1911 in that mode. Some manufacturers have turned 'pussy' and are showing their fear of lawyers by 'advising ' you to carry uncocked. If they advised you to carry 'cocked and locked' and you get into a "trayvon needed killing" type situation, well, some slimy shitbag may sue them for being complicit in that you 'might not have killed the poor little boy with the iced tea and skittles if the gun hadn't been READY FOR WAR'. So, they take the easy way out.