Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Bucks County)

Default Good places for small game hunting.

What are some good places to hunt rabbits and squirrels nearish to bucks county (i'm more than willing to drive a bit). I'm new to the sport of hunting and figure small game is probably the best way to start.

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: Good places for small game hunting.

State Game Lands 157 is in bucks county. Look it up on the PA portal. I think it's near quakertown. I am 42 and last year I decided to take up hunting. I found that squirrels were a great way to start practicing. If you come from the suburbs like me, you'd think it was very easy...but hunting squirrels in an SGL is much harder. They are very wary of humans. I had a lot of frustrating days as I learned how to be more quiet and to get more camoflauged. It also gives you good practice in "field dressing". I own 40 acres in the Poconos, but I hunted on an SGL at first. It helped me practice following all the rules, wearing the right amount of orange, carrying the right firearm, etc. Another thing hunting in an SGL teaches you is to pack light! It's amazing how much useless crap I would lug around.....when you have to walk for miles, you quickly get smart about what to carry and what not to. I envy people who were lucky to grouw up hunting and be taught by their dad....I had to learn on forums like this, you tube, and alot of trial and error. I'm no expert, but I have really learned to love it. Good luck.
    The only purpose for which power can be rightfully exercised over any member of a civilized community, against his will, is to prevent harm to others.

(Bucks County)

Try SGL 56 and 157 near Nockamixon. Also Nockamixon SP once it opens for hunting.

(Monroe County)