Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Default NJ Resident with a Non-Res Florida Permit

Hopefully I will be escaping from enemy territory sometime soon and moving to PA.

Since I cannot move there yet, I have a question for you folks. Law Enforcement Officers please let me know your thoughts, too.

I am a resident of NJ with a newly acquired Florida CCW non-resident permit.
    It has come to light, via discussions on packing.org, etc, that my FL permit might not be recognized by PA due to the verbage in PA's law. Since I am not a "citizen" of either state will I have any problem ?

WHEREAS, the purpose of this Reciprocity Agreement is to extend reciprocal concealed firearm carry permit/license privileges to the citizens of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and the State of Florida,

I did call the AG's office in Harrisburg today and and spoke with a lawyer. He said that there has been some confusion over the verbage in the law and that some State Police folks do not consider a NJ (or a resident not from PA or FL) resident with a FL NR permit as valid.

Please help !!

Thanks.
    Last edited by Leade45; January 8th, 2007 at 09:37 PM.

(Erie County)

Default Re: NJ Resident with a Non-Res Florida Permit

WHEREAS, the purpose of this Reciprocity Agreement is to extend reciprocal concealed firearm carry permit/license privileges to the citizens of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and the State of Florida,

The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania will recognize valid Florida licenses to carry concealed firearms by valid Florida permit holders while said permit holders are present in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.
    Those two statements contradict. First saying citizens, then say the permits/permit holder. I can't read....accidently put the word "citizens" infront of FL

The license tool on packing.org says NONRES-OK

http://licgweb.doacs.state.fl.us/new...led_carry.html