Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jury Duty!

(Berks County)

Default Jury Duty!

I got my big manilla envelope yesterday in the mail. I get to report in Philthadelphia for Federal Jury Duty on June 2. If I lived 3.5 more miles away, the city would have even paid for me to stay in a local hotel.

This is my first time being summoned. Anything in particular that I should expect?

(Beaver County)

Default Re: Jury Duty!

I sat on a federal jury, once, in Dallas (I was elected foreman!), but I think this still applies:

Expect to be treated better than the county jury service ever treated you, but not by the federal judge. The shenanigans that go on in federal court are no less disconcerting than in the county courts, and on a much grander scale. My experience was in Jerry Buckmeyer's court, and I left there feeling sick to my stomach about what took place. We had subsidized parking, a 90-minute lunch break, free coffee in the waiting room, with clean, close bathrooms and comfortable chairs and a television. The courtroom was breathtaking, and absolutely huge. Everyone we dealt with outside the courtroom was friendly, courteous, and helpful. The circus mostly takes place in the judge's chambers, before the trial ever begins. Judge Buckmeyer is the type that gives honest jurors a bad name.

It's just a sorry state of affairs. I hope you don't have to endure what I watched taking place.

Try to enjoy your "service". It's a fairly rare glimpse into the inner workings of the justice process. Maybe you'll get a good one.

(Berks County)

I am actually looking forward to it. What happened that shocked you so much?

(Philadelphia County)

Just don't forget about Jury Nullification.
    ==============