Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: In a conundrum?

(Chester County)

Default In a conundrum?

So for the longest time I've been really wanting to do some major upgrades to my AR. I have a bushmaster XM-15. I purchased this rifle a long time ago before the past several years of heat on the AR started. I got a great price on it back in 06. Now I know many people say the shrubmasters aren't all to great except the older ones. I have my serial number documented and I am wondering what is the number (or date) when most people think bushmaster went down hill. I've feed my bushmaster an array of 556 and 223 and only ever had 1 failure to fire.

I've taken apart, upgraded, trigger jobs, action jobs, refinished, etc many of my lever actions and bolt actions. Now I really want to get into some customizing my AR. IF my AR is one of the ehhhh not so good bushmasters I would consider purchasing a 6920 and starting off my customized AR with a better quality AR. Or I'm also contemplating starting off with a Noveske (or another brand name) lower and going from there. Maybe something even higher quality. I am considering a carbine length rifle and possibly in a couple years a LR suppressed rifle.

I guess what I'm saying is. Is it worth the time, effort, and finances, to trick out a bushmaster. Or should I invest in a better platform to start with?

(Beaver County)

Default Re: In a conundrum?

IMO, I would just start from scratch by assembling your own. Prices on parts have dropped dramatically, and you sound like you could tackle the job with ease. Get what you want with little to no leftover parts that no one will want (ie A2 grips, A2 hand guards, pre-drilled A2 FSB).

Nothing wrong with the 6920 by any means. I don't drink the Colt-Aid, but it is a great, ready to go rifle. Edit: I'm not turning my nose up at Colt or owners. I would snag one if the price is right, but for over $1k, I'd rather assemble my own.