Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Bucks County)

Default range practice in the backyard

Hi I am new to the forum and had a few basic questions. I live in PA, and was wondering what the laws are on using your land for a personal shooting range were. Is there a certain amount of land needed to do this? are there noise laws against this? Im very new to this, and know that I will not be doing this anytime soon as I haven't purchased my new home yet, I was just curious if the 10 acre property for sale I was looking at could legally be used for me to make a small range for myself. Any helpful insight would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,

Luke

(Indiana County)

Default Re: range practice in the backyard

According to State Law, there's no such restrictions.

However, it all depends on what Township/Borough/City you live in within the County.

Your local government is the one that makes the rules on such.

(Bucks County)

Quote Originally Posted by Statkowski View Post
    According to State Law, there's no such restrictions.

However, it all depends on what Township/Borough/City you live in within the County.

Your local government is the one that makes the rules on such.
    ^^^Exactly, this is correct^^^^
    Jesus is Lord !

(Bucks County)

Agreed... check your local laws before buying or shooting.... it will pay off if you end up having a PITA neighbor.

You will have to check the local laws. I shoot long distance (600 yds) at my brothers house in The Peoples Republic of Jersey. My grandfathers farm is now owned by a gun club. There is a neighbor who call the Storm troopers every time. They pull in, and tell us they got called. We ask if they want to shoot, and since they are on duty they normally say No. It has been a club since the 40's. I guess it is grandfathered in, because they never tell us to stop. I repeat this is in Jersey.