Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Cumberland County)

Default My new M&P 9 Pro

I just picked up my new Smith and Wesson M&P 9 Pro from Mechanicsburg Ordnance today. Took it to the range and wanted to give my thoughts on it. I will say that I am a Glock guy, I have a 19, Gen 4 26 and a 34. The M&P definitely feels better in the hand and it points naturally. I have read a lot about M&P's and the resounding opinion was that their factory triggers are gritty and horrible. According to the literature, the Pro series comes with a lighter trigger. I will say that it doesn't feel very light while dry firing, but once I started shooting it did feel quite light and I actually liked it. The trigger reset is virtually impossible to hear or feel, but in practical shooting, I feel, doesn't really make a difference. The sights were very nice and the green fiber optic is very easy to pick up. On my G34 I have a red fiber optic and it really pops. The green doesn't pop as much but isn't bad at all. I don't have the biggest hands so I put on the small backstrap and it felt good in hand. It came with 2 17 round magazines and they are pretty rugged and drop free when pushing the mag release. The slide release is very low profile and not all that easy to actuate, unlike my 34 which sticks out more. I am hopefully gonna to officially break it in this weekend at a local IDPA match. I am going to need to get a holster, mag pouches and an extra mag before then. Again, I really love glocks but this M&P was a great purchase. I put 100 rounds through it today. Some slow firing and then some IDPA style shooting multiple targets. Felt good and I really enjoyed shooting it. Here are my first 10 rounds at about 12 yards.

So in closing, I guess in the words spoken by the late Rodney King, "Can't we all get along" can be used in the Glock and M&P world as well.