Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Tioga County)

Default Cleaning and preserving old magazines

Hi,

I thought I would run this by the forum and see if more knowledgeable people have tips or tricks when it comes to cleaning up old surplus magazines and also if what I have done already sounds right. I'm no expert when it comes to working with metal or such things.

I've got some Finnish Army surplus Carl Gustav 36 round magazines of Lapua manufacture and from the research I have done are probably 1950's vintage and are stamped with the Finnish Army stamp. I bought these for the Suomi M31 I have.

The end game for me is:

1. I want them to be functional without oil and grit getting on the ammo and causing issues with the gun
    2. I want to preserve or care for them enough they don't turn into useless rust buckets 2 years from now. They are definitely used and have a patina of army use, which fine, but I doubt these magazines made of metal stampings and welded were designed to still be around as they are. I just want to keep them alive and functional.

When I got them they were covered in oil/cosmoline so I used a hair dryer and using old t-shirts wiped all the gunk and oil off. Once clean, used patches and some nylon brushes to clean up around the seams, follower and feed lips. On cursory inspection all looked reasonably decent and I put them into use.

However, after being used it was obvious the internals had not been cleaned after being dropped in the sand and dirt all over Finland and then sprayed with oil. Use brought all this junk to the surface and also over time more oil/cosmoline has weeped out of all the welded stamped parts.