Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (York County)

Default Should I, or should'nt I

refinish a 1948 model 12, 12ga? There is no rust or pitting on the gun just normal wear on the metal, and dings on the wood.. the gun has just been used (alot) since it was bought by my grandfather in 1948.
    I want the gun to look like its new. But if refinishing it will take away from the value. I will just keep the gun the way it is.

Any and all advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    I AM A PROFESSIONAL. DON'T TRY THIS AT HOME

(Indiana County)

Default Re: Should I, or should'nt I

Refinishing will always take away value if the gun is in good condition otherwise, especially on a Winchester.

However, since it was your grandfathers, and if you plan on keeping it, then refinish it if you like.
    Just so long as you know the dollar value will drop.
    You'll still have sentimental value.

(Allegheny County)

If it was me, I'd leave it just the way it is and not for monetary reasons. I'd look at it as every one of the dings and wear spots were put there by my grandfather. It would remind me of him, every time I looked at the gun.

(York County)

Ok. enough said, I will keep it the way it is. The money value does kind of concern me. Just because if something would happen to me, and my kids dont want it. They get the best price possible when they sell it. Honestly I like the worn look anyways.

Thanks!

(Bucks County)

I would vote NO too. Especially if there is no pitting or abuse......

Your grandfather worked hard to thin that blueing through lots of use and thousands of rounds (not abuse). For me thats history.

You will put a lot of money to have it refinished properly........then it will likely be worth less and it will not be the way your grandfather left it.

(Allegheny County)

Let's start first by figuring out the actual market price of the shotgun. What is it? What's the model number, gauge, manufacturer of it?