Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Allegheny County)

Default Making my own Ironsights

I recently bought a Remington 700 SPS Stainless.. It was exactly the gun I was looking for.. *except* it didnt come with ironsights.

Im an experienced CNC machinist, and im really considering making my own. The barrel is clean, no drilled/tapped holes for sights, but the receiver is tapped for scope mounts (I do have a scope on it currently).

I dont know very much about *how* a rear ironsight is engineered.. I would like to make an adjustable one, but I dont really want a remington BDL style ramp. Id much prefer something that is more easily adjusted in finer incriments (theres the machinist in me speaking).

As far as the front sight goes, I was planning on makeing a 'split ring' type mount that would just slip over the barrel, then a screw to squeeze it and clamp it down. I have heard this may not be good for the barrel however.

I would like to avoid drilling the barrel if at all possible..

Does anyone have any blueprints/sketches/concepts/links for ironsights?

Thanks!

(Allegheny County)

Default iron sights

I was looking for a peep sight to put on an old 22 and while I was looking for them I discovered a huge selection of micometer adjusted iron sights for target rifles at Midway. Lyman was one brand and there were all kinds of options. Most mounted in dovetails, but if you are a machinist it should be no problem.

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: Making my own Ironsights

I'm no machinist or engineer, but i do have an idea.