Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Snyder County)

Default Dealer Question - Gun Locking Devices

I'm relatively new to being a firearms dealer and have an interesting question. This hasn't happened to me, yet. But, I wanted to ask everyone's input before it does happen to me. As far as Federal law goes, I know a dealer is only required to make locking devices "available" to purchasers of firearms. Under PA law (§6142 of the UFA), it seems to read that a dealer is not allowed to have a customer purchase a firearm unless he is given or sold a locking device.

With that said, has anyone ever had a customer say, "No, thanks. I don't want one." If so, are dealers still required to pretty much make them take one?

Also, would a lockable case in which a pistol comes with considered a "locking device"

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Dealer Question - Gun Locking Devices

Quote Originally Posted by shademtarmory View Post
    I'm relatively new to being a firearms dealer and have an interesting question. This hasn't happened to me, yet. But, I wanted to ask everyone's input before it does happen to me. As far as Federal law goes, I know a dealer is only required to make locking devices "available" to purchasers of firearms. Under PA law (§6142 of the UFA), it seems to read that a dealer is not allowed to have a customer purchase a firearm unless he is given or sold a locking device.

With that said, has anyone ever had a customer say, "No, thanks. I don't want one." If so, are dealers still required to pretty much make them take one?

Also, would a lockable case in which a pistol comes with considered a "locking device"
    I'm not a dealer, but I was with someone that bought a used handgun from a LARGE retailer with no lock. Actually, they walked with him to the door handed him the handgun at the exit and said "have a great day". No box, no container, no lock, no nothing. It was used so I don't know if that matters.