Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Westmoreland County)

Default Problem Ruger GP100

You will have to forgive my terms as I am pretty new to revolvers and still trying to get signed up for my basic handgun course.

I have a GP100 that was new and I have put about 300 rounds through it. I recently found that when the cylinder is in one position, pushing the button to eject the cylinder will not allow it to eject or it will be very difficult. This only occurs on the one position. If the revolver is cycled via trigger or hammer to the next position it will then eject the cylinder fine and will operate correctly until we get back to the first cylinder.

I thought it was a lubrication problem initially so I lubricated all moving parts - the crane, the release button, the back of the cylinder area, the little metal piece that slides up and stops the cylinder rotation (I think that's what it does?).

I suspect that maybe the notch in the exterior of the cylinder that the "metal piece" mentioned above slides into is deeper at that point so it doesn't easily eject.

Thoughts? Anyone have something like this on a revolver? Is this something to take back to Ruger?

Thanks for your assistance in advance. Please feel free to improve my education of terms.

The End of Josiah's Railroad, Pennsylvania
    (Luzerne County)

Default Re: Problem Ruger GP100

The GP100 owners manual should help you with the terminology.

I don't have an answer for your issue, but I would also try a good cleaning.