Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default S&W 617 malfunctions

newbie here so sorry if it's a dup post. finally found a used stainless 617 10 shot 22 lr with a 4"bbl. (previously owned a 6" with no problems and great accuracy, but too big/heavy) and am having troubles with the cylinder locking up after 30-50 shots, depending on ammo. thought it was a timing issue as after cleaning lead from around the frame/cylinder/breach, it works again. I saw the vids on here of guys with similar problems. even called S&W and they acted like they never heard of the problem before. anyone know of the fix? any recall? I'd really hate to have to sell it, cuz it took so long to find this one. any help appreciated.

Smile Re: S&W 617 malfunctions

I can help ! Ater still owning 3 617s and 2 517s,these fine guns are great but if the ammo is dirty it will fould up the cyclinder rotation where it feel like your hauling in a marlin ! After a cleaning you still experience this problem and I do mean a thourough cleaning it is time for a G/Smiths evaluation,But really feel the issue is dirty ammo.Side note after shotting 100 rounds through my revolvers I give a cleaning on cyclinder face and chambers,let us know how this works out,good luck ! MDT

(Elk County)

Default Re: S&W 617 malfunctions

Very common due to close tolerances and filthy externally-lubricated 22LR ammo. My own 4" 10-shot 617 starts locking up after 1.5 boxes of certain 22LR ammo. Cleaner stuff will let me get by with 2+ boxes.

The 617 also likes to run well-lubricated:

- Make sure that the cylinder-to-crane surface is clean and oiled.
    - Put a dab of grease on the cylinder rotation lugs on the ejector star.
    - Put a drop or two of oil in the slot where the hand peeks through to rotate the cylinder.