Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default Obtaining a PA permit as a NJ resident

Hello all. This is my first time starting a thread here, though I have been reading other people's posts for several weeks. I spend most of my time over at The Gun Thing forum, which perhaps some of you might be familiar with.

On to my question. I am a NJ resident going to college in PA. From what I understand, if your home state has a provision for issuing a permit, PA will not issue you a permit unless you have a permit from your home state. As I am sure many of you know, even though NJ technically issues permits, it is essentially a non-issue state. Is there any chance that I could get a PA permit?

Default Re: Obtaining a PA permit as a NJ resident

Quote Originally Posted by eocoolj View Post
    Hello all. This is my first time starting a thread here, though I have been reading other people's posts for several weeks. I spend most of my time over at The Gun Thing forum, which perhaps some of you might be familiar with.

On to my question. I am a NJ resident going to college in PA. From what I understand, if your home state has a provision for issuing a permit, PA will not issue you a permit unless you have a permit from your home state. As I am sure many of you know, even though NJ technically issues permits, it is essentially a non-issue state. Is there any chance that I could get a PA permit?
    you basically said it, since NJ does have a permit you can't get a non resident PA permit without one. I believe you can carry in PA on a non-resident FL or UT permit though

(Allegheny County)

Quote Originally Posted by XD45 View Post
    you basically said it, since NJ does have a permit you can't get a non resident PA permit without one. I believe you can carry in PA on a non-resident FL or UT permit though
    XD45 is correct - you could get yourself a Non-Resident permit form either Utah or Florida and carry legally in PA.