Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default Being Given Handguns

Hello. My late brother-in-law was an avid target shooter and small gun collector. He passed away last December, and his wife, my sister, has asked me if I was interested in any of his guns, and/or would help her sell them. The collection consists of about 6 or 7 rifles & shotguns and about 6 handguns. My concern is taking possession of the handguns. Although a hunter and gun owner, I have never owned a handgun or had a permit to own or carry one. I have no criminal background, and know I would pass an intsant check.
    Can I legally possess these handguns, and do I have to report them to any agency. I live in Pennsylvania, and my sister will soon be bringing them down from Michigan. She knows to have them in the trunk with no ammunition anywhere in the vehicle.
    There will be future posts on helping determine value and what I need to do to legally sell them for her.

(Delaware County)

Default Re: Being Given Handguns

First. Who "owns" the guns now? Were they inherited to his wife?

If that's the case, they would need to be legally transferred to you and/or your sister via an FFL

I'd assume you guys live in PA and the deceased in MI?

Handguns MUST go through an FFL in PA before you or your sister takes possession of them. Better talk with her BEFORE she gets them and drives home to you.

Long guns MUST go through an FFL in either state.

This is complex and needs more clarification on the will, owners, etc

This also involves Federal and State law

I wouldn't do anything or take possession until you sort out the legalities
    Last edited by BimmerJon; March 30th, 2013 at 11:11 PM.

(Delaware County)

Quote Originally Posted by ray h View Post
    The handguns must be transfered from your sister to you via a FFL.
    I think that's all that would be required as far as PA law.
    I can't say what MI would need your sister to do though.