Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bore Snakes

(Berks County)

Default Bore Snakes

Okay, newbie here as many new. I am trying the Frog Lube route, regardless, I bought two bore snakes (9mm, 22LR). I am wondering how they fit in my maintenance routine? After shooting at the range and before I get a chance to do a good wipe down and clean? During my cleaning? Do I apply Frog Lube to it as part of cleaning? How does one clean a bore snake?

Just curious.
    Gunowner99 - NRA Benefactor Life Member

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: Bore Snakes

I use my bore snakes as a replacement for a cleaning rod for the bore. I use Break Free on the bore while dirty, run the broe snake through and presto!

I have never cleaned a boresnake, I threw one out when it was frayed terribly. The big advantage to a bore snake is that it does not run the risk of dinging up the crown of the muzzle, which can happen in rifles. I am a proponent of bore snakes, they smiplify cleaning the bore and prevent damage.
    Join the groups protecting your rights from the fools trying to take them from you!

(Montgomery County)

I love bore snakes. Saves time and prevents accidental damage as the previous poster noted. Some people have had them break causing them to get stuck in the bore, so do be careful and don't buy the cheap chinese knock-offs. Yes, I'm sure this happens to the Hoppes snakes as well, but I have no problem spending an extra 2 dollars for a known brand.

As far as cleaning them goes, I put mine in an empty water bottle along with some Tide or dish soap, fill it half way or so, and shake that thang. Then, let it sit for a few hours to let most of the dirt settle. Then, pull it (or them if you wash a couple) out with a hook tool of some type so you don't disturb the dirty water too much. After it's out, thoroughly rinse it or them, then hang dry. Done!
    You can never have enough horsepower or ammunition.