Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Cumberland County)

Default So I'm torn on what I should get next...

I'm just a hobbyist shooter that likes to go the range and have a little fun. I don't hunt but I do carry for self defense and I already have a LTCF and a carry pistol.

I do however want to get into hunting sometime in the future. For this I was thinking of saving up money for a decent starter rifle such as a Remington 700. I already have a Ruger 10/22 which you can't hunt with in PA unfortunately, but is great to take out and just shoot at targets all day.

With this in mind though I also am interested in getting a .22 LR handgun since while I enjoy shooting my carry pistol. I have a whole lot of .22 LR which is considerably cheaper, and more easily obtainable in bulk compared to 9mm. I also kind of want one just for marksmanship practice. While its not a 9mm, lots of shooting is much better than infrequent shooting and allows me to perfect the basic fundamentals.

I was thinking of an M&P22 or a Ruger SR22 just for ease of use and similarities to centerfired pistols. I also like the possibility of more of an marksmanship pistol such as a Ruger Mark II or III. So many choices! Not sure what to decide on first. I'd also likely be using these 22 pistols to introduce to friends and family over my 9mm.

So what should I get next? Rifle or handgun?

(Lackawanna County)

Default Re: So I'm torn on what I should get next...

There already is a similar thread already going on elsewhere on the forum, use the search function.
    Government 99 and 44/100 % pure bullshit.

Stone's throw from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    (Butler County)