Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Question New to amature gunsmithing looking for the right start

Hey guys, I found your forums looking for info on 80% ar-15 receivers. I'm new to firearms, just bought my first one last fall with a $500 cabelas gift card I got as a wedding present. I did alot of research and settled on a marlin 336y (youth model) and now I already want to mod it. I kind of regret not getting the ruger mini 14 which was second on my list but only because I could have sold it right now and got the marlin anyway as well as gotten my wife a small pistol, and the single shot 12 gauge with the various caliber barrel inserts that is now on my list as well. I don't like relying on others to make things for me if I can make it myself and I have always enjoyed making things. Although I have no experience with fire arms I have built many different paintball rigs over 9 years of playing. Before you poo poo my paint marker experience I have done a hall sensor trigger job on one marker that I could put out 20 rps in semi auto and so far looking at the inner workings of many of the fire arms I am interested in building they seem to run on many of the same principles. I have access to a manual lathe, and drill press, and I am working on access to a brothers friends CNC and mill. When I found out I could legally make my own firearm and how easy it is with 80% lowers, which I never heard of before this winter (shame on gun folks for not getting this info out in the public) I have been filling my head with as much knowledge as I could find on the web. I don't really know any people who are into guns so I wanted to hear thoughts from experienced people on what I should be doing and learning to prepare for my first 80% ar-15 lower. I want know everything safety, laws, education, parts, tools, products, cool stuff, tips and tricks, friendly local gunsmiths (chester county area), good starter builds, ect. Thanks so much and I look forward to becoming an accomplish