Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default ROHM model 66 22MAG pistol

I'm very new in gun ownership, and I recently bought a Rohm model 66, 22MAG revolver at a gun show. I was looking for an affordable but decent 22 revolver to go with my first gun, a 9mm Glock 17 Gen4. I love that one. I'm kinda hoping to hear someone say something good about this gun.
    My boy and I took it to the range (the Rohm) and put over 200 rounds through it, and it performed as good as any other 22 revolver I've ever fired. I've done a lot of forum searching to get info on it, and there are a lot of Rohm haters out there. I had a lot of fun shooting it, but after some of the things I read. WOW! Does anyone know anything about my gun?
    It is a 6 shooter with a gate to load from, and has an 8 1/2" barrel with plastic grips, and a casing extractor rod. Any info? Hopefully I get some good replies!

(Berks County)

Default Re: ROHM model 66 22MAG pistol

Welcome to the board, I posted a reply to the other thread, but I'll post it here also...

I had a lot of fun shooting it, but after some of the things I read. WOW! Does anyone know anything about my gun?
    Every other Rohm/RG pistol is pretty much junk....but the model 66, 22/22mag was probably the only decent gun they ever made. They stopped making/importing them in the late 1960's, but there are quite a few out there. I just hope you never need parts. General consensus is the 66 is OK though.

It is a 6 shooter with a gate to load from, and has an 8 1/2" barrel with plastic grips, and a casing extractor rod.
    This type of wheelgun is usully refered to as a "single action" meaning you have to cock it every time you fire it, and cylinder doesn't swing out. It is fashioned after the cowboy guns of the old west. Quite a few companys make single action revolvers of this type. Rohm doesn't import them anymore.