Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gun Shopping

(Montgomery County)

Default Gun Shopping

I hope this is where my question goes about gun shopping. For those that don't know, I am very new to guns, and just got my LTCFA yesterday. (be gentle..we all have to start somewhere)

I've been doing a lot of research online about the first gun I would like to purchase, and I went down to French creek yesterday to check it out.

I'm going to buy a S&W 686 2.5 Barrel Dist Comb. 7 shot.(my mind is made up)

My question is Do most gun dealers in the area accept "trade ins" on new guns? The reason I ask, is cause my father wants to get rid of 2 handguns. How does this process work?

Is gun buying like car shopping? Is the price the price..or is there more wiggle room on used guns only? The reason I ask is..I don't want to look stupid and get taken over. I'm also a business owner, and fully understand these dealers are here to make money..just like I am. My whole point is..I want to get my money's worth with the gun,customers service etc. If I'm paying $670.00 for this gun..I want to feel like I got the whole package with whom I buy this from.

There was 1 member here who gave me a few different dealers in the area. Are these dealers just like FC and have guns on display that I can look at? Is it possible they will have the particular S&W I'm going to buy?

I saw what French creek had to offer. One of the pluses that I like is..I can pay an hourly charge for someone to teach me gun safety and teach me about the gun I'm buying. I also like that fact that they have NRA instructors on hand to do that.

I want to see what other retailers have to offer as well for the same gun, and service.

My last question is..how am I supposed to know the going rate on this particular revolver I wish to buy?

Any help would be appreciated.
    Last edited by Ozone; April 4th, 2008 at 08:33 PM.

(Lehigh County)

Default Re: Gun Shopping