Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Carbon County)

Default M&P 9 shoots low

I have a M&P9 that shoots about 6 inches low at 10 yards is this a common thing ... I had my friend shoot it also with the same result

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: M&P 9 shoots low

Are the low groups you are getting between you and your friend tight? If you were shooting 1.5 inch groups at 10 yards, yet very low I would consider it was the pistol. However, I suspect it is user error.

What grain ammunition were you using? How much experience do you have with handguns?
    Join the groups protecting your rights from the fools trying to take them from you!

(Lancaster County)

Yes, I will tell you my experience and you can see if it helps.

I am a LE firearms instructor and this year our office transitioned from .40 Glock's to M&P .45's (full size version). We have experienced a few Deputies who initially shot low with their pistols. After a few diagnostic tests we found that their issue was improper sight alignment. They were all using the dots of their sights when acquiring their sight picture as opposed to using the silhouette of the sight.

The question then becomes, why did they shoot fine using the dots when shooting Glocks, but then shoot low using the Smith's?

In comparing the two, the M&P pistols have a front sight blade that is considerably thinner than the Glock front sight blade. Because the front sight blade is thinner, the dot on the front sight is proportionately smaller.

When aligning the dots on the sights for the Glock, all of the dots are comparable in size and therefore one can align the dots for their sight picture and achieve adequate results. (even though this is technically still improper as the dots/night sights are designed for used to enhance visibility in low light)