Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default NJ/PA Residency Legal Question

Hello!

First off, I apologize if I posted this in the wrong section. I went through the forum listing and didn't know where it would fit best.

Here is my situation. I'm currently a NJ resident. I plan on moving to a family members house in PA this month. I will still work in New Jersey and will probably be staying there on weekdays.

Once I change my address to PA I want to purchase a handgun and maybe an assault rifle. I go shooting a lot in New Jersey and always rent guns at the ranges and would like to own my own.

If I have a PA registered handgun and rifle will I be able to have them at my place in New Jersey while I'm there during the week? Also will I be able to transport them across the boarder between PA/NJ residencies?

Thanks for your help in advance.

(Chester County)

Default Re: NJ/PA Residency Legal Question

Quote Originally Posted by wwwdev View Post
    Hello!

First off, I apologize if I posted this in the wrong section. I went through the forum listing and didn't know where it would fit best.

Here is my situation. I'm currently a NJ resident. I plan on moving to a family members house in PA this month. I will still work in New Jersey and will probably be staying there on weekdays.

Once I change my address to PA I want to purchase a handgun and maybe an assault rifle. I go shooting a lot in New Jersey and always rent guns at the ranges and would like to own my own.

If I have a PA registered handgun and rifle will I be able to have them at my place in New Jersey while I'm there during the week? Also will I be able to transport them across the boarder between PA/NJ residencies?

Thanks for your help in advance.
    If the 'assault rifle' is not NJ legal you cannot possess it in NJ without proper NJ licensure regardless of your state of residence.