Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Full NYS Carry/No PA

I'm a NYS resident and have a no restrictions carry permit for NYS (excluding NYC) so I now want to get my PA permit. Well I was going over the application and came to the question which says "AS PROVIDED IN 18 PA.C.S. § 6109(e)(1)(II), ANY
    PENNSYLVANIA DRUG CONVICTION UNDER THE CSDDCA IS PROHIBITING FOR A LICENSE TO CARRY"

In 1996 I was arrested (in NY) and one of the charges was an unlawful possession of marijuana which is a violation (equivalent of a parking ticket). I just got off the phone with Pike County and because of that one drug charte I can't get a permit. I was hoping that since it was not a PA Drug Conviction I would be ok but apparently not.

I though PA was to be easier than NY, I'm very disappointed about this. I make one mistake in when I was 19 now I have to pay the rest of my life? Since the new SAFE laws I've been wanting to get out of state, I guess PA is no longer an option.

Default Re: Full NYS Carry/No PA

well you can car carry with your NY license and then OC on foot..

You need to talk to a lawyer. We have one here that may be able to shed some light on the subject. Stick around.

Thanks, I just did a PATCH Check and it came back with "No Record", not sure if this is good enough or if they do more checking.

Carrying on foot might be ok if I wanted to stay out of state, but I really want to get out of NY and open carry in PA won't cut it for me.

I find it hard to believe NY didn't hold that against you.

Unfortunately any drug conviction will prohibit you from obtaining a Pa LTCF.
    You could obtain a non res AZ permit, but be forewarned we have a new gun hating AG that just re wrote the agreement with FL to deny non resident carry with Fl, so I suspect other agreements will soon go the same way.

I don't believe you have much recourse in Pa with your drug conviction unless you can somehow get the record expunged in NY.
    FUCK BIDEN