Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Northumberland County)

Default Help me understand scope terms

I hope this isnt a redunant question but i am a total newbie to scopes, i always used iron sights but even if i dont actually get one id like to know the lingo better.

My only experience with scopes is on my Marlin 795 that has a cheap rim fire scope from dicks (bought the rifle there, as well as the scope and mount a few years ago before the boycott). Its a Gamo 22 special 4x32 which i assume is crap but for what i do its sufficent on my 22.

What does the 4x32 mean? I also seen scopes with 2-7x32, etc. Also what is a long eye relief? I assume its for when a scope is mounted further forward but why is it needed? Also what is a scout scope? Why do some scopes have real big and long glass and some are real skinny all the way through?

I tried to google this stuff but i dont know what im lookin for. Thanks.

Default Re: Help me understand scope terms

Quote Originally Posted by Optikalillushun View Post
    I hope this isnt a redunant question but i am a total newbie to scopes, i always used iron sights but even if i dont actually get one id like to know the lingo better.

My only experience with scopes is on my Marlin 795 that has a cheap rim fire scope from dicks (bought the rifle there, as well as the scope and mount a few years ago before the boycott). Its a Gamo 22 special 4x32 which i assume is crap but for what i do its sufficent on my 22.

What does the 4x32 mean? I also seen scopes with 2-7x32, etc. Also what is a long eye relief? I assume its for when a scope is mounted further forward but why is it needed? Also what is a scout scope? Why do some scopes have real big and long glass and some are real skinny all the way through?

I tried to google this stuff but i dont know what im lookin for. Thanks.
    Oh no, this is a very good question, especially for someone that isn't used to scopes. I'll gladly help you out.