Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Blair County)

Default revolver conundrum

As we all know it's income tax season, which for the majority of the board means we're looking for guns. Unfortunately for me, I've got a one-year-old boy who needs paid off (shit insurance, woe is me), so I can't get everything I'd like, or even more than one thing I'd like.

Don't take that the wrong way, however. That boy is my pride and joy and the $4000 we owe for him is money well spent.

Anyway, I'm in the market for a gun. Specifically a carry gun. Right now I've got a Gen4 G17 which I love and use for HD, but since I've not carried before I'm a little reluctant to drop the money on gear for a gun that may well be too large and/or cumbersome. Plus, given my family and in-laws, I'd prefer to make conspicuousness a priority. Like I said, I'm new at this and it's a scary and dangerous world I'm venturing into.

I've done a lot of thinking and have settled on a revolver. I'm well aware of the advantages of autos (magazine reloads being chief among them), but figure the reliability of a revolver is reason enough for me. No limp wristing, able shoot from compromised positions, no feed or ejection errors.

I've also narrowed my choices down to either a J-frame or an LCR. The J-frame in question would most likely be a 442 without the lock, but if I couldn't find one I might settle for a 642. Prefer the black finish, though.

Who has either and can offer some owner input? Better yet, anyone own both and could compare/contrast them?

Also kind of in the running is the LCR in 357, the SP101 in 357, and if I could find the money, a 340M&P (but I could get two LCRs or 442s for that price). Deep down I'd prefer 357, but honestly have read that from a 2" barrel it's kind of a waste. But man, that 340 is one sexy gun.

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: revolver conundrum