Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Lebanon County)

Default Questions about tumbling

I'm new to pistol reloading and I have questions about tumbling. I found answers to most of them by searching forums but here are a few I couldn't find:

How long should you tumble brass? Is there a set min and max time or is it just wait and see how long it takes to clean? If it's the latter, is there such a thing as an average time - 1 hour, 5 hours, 10 hours, etc?

How much media do I use? Is there a set ratio?

Can I reuse the media or should I replace it after each tumle? If I can reuse, for how long?

Lastly, does anybody do anything in addition to tumbling - like cleaning the brass with a liquid solution of some sort?

(Monroe County)

Default Re: Questions about tumbling

Quote Originally Posted by Bond815 View Post
    I'm new to pistol reloading and I have questions about tumbling. I found answers to most of them by searching forums but here are a few I couldn't find:

How long should you tumble brass? Is there a set min and max time or is it just wait and see how long it takes to clean? If it's the latter, is there such a thing as an average time - 1 hour, 5 hours, 10 hours, etc?

How much media do I use? Is there a set ratio?

Can I reuse the media or should I replace it after each tumle? If I can reuse, for how long?

Lastly, does anybody do anything in addition to tumbling - like cleaning the brass with a liquid solution of some sort?
    There realy is no set amount of time for tumbling, You just take a look from time to time and see if it is cleaned to your liking. I tumble for about 4 hours, gets the brass nice and shiny.

The amount of media you use will depend on the size of your tumbler, My commercial units use 50 pounds each. The smaller personal units use anywhere from 3 to 5 pounds for a full load of brass.