Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Centre County)

Default New Member to Town

Hey all,

I'm a Marine currently deployed (at sea), but will be attending PSU in the fall. While researching PA concealed carry laws and such I came across this site and it seems like a good resource.

I do not currently own any pistols for concealed carry but will definitely be in the market when I come home, so I am open to any recommendations you guys have.

I'll also be looking for apartments in the state college area for my wife and I so if you guys have any (dog friendly) recommendations I will be open to those as well.

Thank you guys, and stay safe.

(Also, not sure what information I'd have that you guys don't, but if you guys have any questions for me I'll do my best to answer as swift as possible.)

(York County)

Default Re: New Member to Town

To begin with, thanks for your service!
    As a PSU alum myself I can make a few living suggestions. I graduated almost 20 years ago, but the ideas are still the same. If you value your privacy and your sleep, stay away from living downtown or in one of the big complexes on north or south atherton. Find a quiet duplex or a house just a little off the beaten path. Find a smaller real estate office and tell them you are a vet. Some have set aside places for grads & vets only to keep them nicer, you may find something like that.
    If you are on Facebook search 'PSU houses'. Give them a call and tell them you are a friend of mine (Jeff O'Brien), a friend of Rob Pileggi's. Rob and I have known each other since HS, and he's an owner in the business. He is a good landlord and takes care of property issues. He also has places more conducive to family life.
    When you are all moved in let me know, I visit State College for work once a month; i'll meet you for lunch and buy you a beer. Any guy on this forum cant be all that bad!
    One final hint, get a cheap mountain bike, you will not regret it!