Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Question about used ARs.

I am new to ARs (and guns in general TBH).

With regards to a used AR, which parts are affected?

If one were to replace the "lower", would that in essence give me a new rifle?

(Northampton County)

Default Re: Question about used ARs.

Yes. The lower reciever is the transferable "gun". The rest is just parts.

(Washington County)

There are 2 halves to an AR. A upper and a lower.
    Replacing a lower will give you half a new gun. New will be trigger group, receiver, buffer and tube. And things such as bolt release and mag release.

I would look at the bolt carrier group that is in the upper. I would take notice mostly of the upper when looking at a used AR. JMO
    FOAC Member, NRA Member

(Washington County)

Quote Originally Posted by Armor Snail View Post
    Yes. The lower reciever is the transferable "gun". The rest is just parts.
    Good point armor snail. Also this the lower receiver is considered the firearm.
    FOAC Member, NRA Member

(Wayne County)

Typically the Lowers/ Lower parts are pretty bullet proof and last a real long time. If you are looking for enhanced reliability ,along the lines of a new rifle, out of a used AR ...M and P Chris is correct. The Bolt/Bolt carrier group contains the parts that typically wear first. Mainly the extractor/ejector springs or extractor assembly, followed by the bolt itself. These would be what you'd want to replace 1st. You could just buy a new bolt and rebuild the old one if you want an extra. The action spring should be looked at and replaced if the round count is around 3 to 5K ( chrome silicon springs like the Sprinco last longer IIRC) , along with the barrel of course, if the round count is real high( most barrels are rated from 10000 to 20000 rounds depending on type and steel used ).
    Last edited by Splittiebus66; January 23rd, 2013 at 12:08 PM.
    I always sleep with my guns when you are gone