Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Carbon County)

Default Question about LEOSA

Hey there, I'm sure this has come up before and I am sorry if I am asking again, but as far as LEOSA is concerned, does this include Corrections Officers? I was in New York a few weekends ago and called NJ State Police about transporting rifles through, I explained I was a CO and he said he wasn't 100% sure but he thought that LEOSA gave that right to CO's also, he said that if he recalled correctly, that NJ CO's fell under that. Just curious, because I travel to VA and NC which I know recognize PA LTCF. But I do travel through MD, which doesn't. I work as a state CO and and was just curious if that covers me, I do have my ID with me at all times. Thanks for any insight, you guys are a great learning source.
    If zombies start chasing us, I'm going to trip you!

(Northumberland County)

Default Re: Question about LEOSA

Good question...
    I dunno, but I have the same question about Probation/Parole Officers!

I keep forgetting to ask when I am at my conferences and such...
    "The rifle is the weapon of democracy. If guns are outlawed, only the government will have guns. Only the police, the secret police, the military. The hired servants of our rulers. Only the government-and a few outlaws. I intend to be among the outlaws." (Edward Abbey, "The Right to Arms," Abbey's Road [New York, 1979])
    I have my rifle. Do you?

(Montgomery County)

From the mighty Wiki-pedia

In order to be covered as a "qualified law enforcement officer," a person must meet each and every one of the following criteria: He or she must be
    (1) "an employee of a governmental agency";
    (2) "is authorized by law to engage in or supervise the prevention, detection, investigation, or prosecution of, or the incarceration of any person for, any violation of law";
    (3) has "statutory powers of arrest";
    (4) "is authorized by the agency to carry a firearm";