Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default PA Rifle Purchase by NYC resident

Hi all, I posted this in another section to respond to a similar post, but then I realized it was the Pikes County section.

I am a NYC resident and holder of a NYC premises handgun license ("allowing" me to keep registered handguns in my home). But I do not currently have a NYC rifle/shotgun permit, and hesitate to fork over the $240 necessary to obtain one.

I have a vacation home in beautiful Luzerne County (where my ancestors first settled when they came to the U.S. over a century ago). I would like to keep some rifles there for target shooting at Whitetail Preserve in Bloomsburg and to hopefully take part in some competitions throughout the region. (Specifically, I'm looking for an M1 Garand, a Springfield M1A, and a Colt MT 6700).

As far as PA law is concerned, do I need to have a NYC rifle/shotgun permit in order to purchase a rifle in PA that I will only keep in PA? Also, am I allowed to purchase rifles that I would not be able to possess in NYC? (The M1A and the Colt are both considered "assault weapons" in NYC).

I hate to think that being a NYC resident will follow me around like a scourge, but I fear that this may indeed be the case.

Unfortunately, surrendering my NYC residency for PA residency is not an option at the moment, as this would mean losing my NYC handgun license (and therefore losing the ability to defend myself in my home).

Thank you for your help!

(Jefferson County)

Default Re: PA Rifle Purchase by NYC resident

Technically you could buy long guns in PA. Any that were forbidden in NYC would have to be kept in PA. However, finding a dealer who will sell you a long gun that is forbidden in NYC may be a tough thing to do.

Any guns going back to NYC would require a rifle/shotgun permit. I'm not sure if your premises pistol permit will cover long guns too. You might want to contact the NYPD to see if it does.