Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast
    (Berks County)

Default Another illegally seized gun ... I'm embarassed.

They did it again. This is why I'm sometimes reluctant to admit I'm a cop.
    I report for duty, and officer #1 says, "you're a gun guy, I can't get the slide to go back on this thing to check for one in the chamber." And I carefully take the small pistol from officer #1. I then use my super secret Jedi skills to disengage the safety and pull the slide rear, exposing an empty chamber. I'm a FRIGGIN genius. I then inquire as to how we now possess said weapon.
    I learn that it was SEIZED because it was "registered" to someone other than the person who had it. I flip my usual lid regarding the word registration. I then ask the details on the encounter leading to the unlawful seizure. I cannot release specific details, by policy, but can say that the firearm was not part of any criminal investigation and there was no Probable Cause or Reasonsble Suspicion to believe this gun was involved in ANY criminal matter.
    I proceed to chew out officer #1, who responds that officer #2 ran it for stolen via NCIC (wasn't reported stolen). And then checked for the "registered" owner and it was someone else. The person they were dealing with wasn't able to "prove" ownership. UGH. I scream that officers 1 & 2 are both clueless and just violated the poor owners 4a rights.
    Officer #2 had already left for the day. I tell officer #1 to be ready for a lawsuit. Officer 1 blames officer 2, and then admits forgetting I took issue with a similar incident last year.