Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ACT 235 Help

(Allegheny County)

Default ACT 235 Help

I'm new to this so forgive me if I didn't post this in the right spot but Im trying to get my act 235 w/ weapons now im 20 years old and for the life of me i've searched for weeks and called PA STATE PD and no one can give me an answer so I need help, I want to get the act 235 so I can get a new job however it states that the act 235 is required now I am not able to get a pistol in the state of pa under the age of 21 my father passed away a while back and had no weapons that could be "gifted" so im asking everyone on here, does anyone know of a way that I can get a pistol to get a job in the field I want to get into, without getting a third degree felony on the way of doing so. I havent went into a class yet the school im looking to get into says I need to bring my own pistol.

Default Re: ACT 235 Help

Did you contact

Pennsylvania State Police
    Lethal Weapons Certification Unit
    8002 Bretz Drive
    Harrisburg, PA 17112-9748

Phone: (717) 346-4087 · Fax: (717) 346-7781

Or by email at mpolethalweapcert@pa.gov

Website: http://www.lethalweapons.state.pa.us...g_program/7611

(Northampton County)

I don't see how you are going to do this before turning 21. If you have a particular job in mind find out what handguns they allow there employees to carry. I just quit my job working on an armored truck and they had specs you had to follow such as no safety, no decocker, barrel length & caliber. That is the handgun you want to get certified with it will make it easier to start work.

Good Luck & be Safe.

(Allegheny County)

I did and they aren't giving me any information at all.

(Lycoming County)

A Sheriff is authorized to do a transfer for individuals under 21 yoa. An FFL can not. Seeing where you are located, I doubt that would happen in your County.