Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default Hunting deer with semi auto 12 ga in 5C/Special Regulation area?

This is my first time going out after getting my license. I am going with a buddy. He is telling me that I can only use manually operated shotguns. I am not sure if I am reading it correctly or missing information, but in my digest it mentions using both manually and semi-auto shotguns for deer in the Montgomery County (5C) area. I believe that makes it a Special Regulation area.

Can I use a Semi auto shotgun in Montgomery county for deer?
    Last edited by FJR86; December 4th, 2012 at 01:34 PM.

Default Re: Hunting deer with semi auto 12 ga in 5C/Special Regulation area?

Correction: Section 141.1.d.2

(d) Permitted acts. It is lawful to:
    (2) Take deer with a shotgun 20 gauge or larger—including semiautomatic—using buckshot in the Southeast area only.

http://www.pacode.com/secure/data/05...41/s141.1.html
    Last edited by CL3; December 4th, 2012 at 01:22 PM. Reason: Special Regs

(Montgomery County)

Quote Originally Posted by CL3 View Post
    Correction: Section 141.1.d.2

(d) Permitted acts. It is lawful to:
    (2) Take deer with a shotgun 20 gauge or larger—including semiautomatic—using buckshot in the Southeast area only.

http://www.pacode.com/secure/data/05...41/s141.1.html
    Thank you!

So if I use a pump shotgun, I use slugs. If I use a semi-auto shotgun, use buckshot.
    Last edited by FJR86; December 4th, 2012 at 01:34 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by FJR86 View Post
    Thank you!

So if I use a pump shotgun, I use slugs. If I use a semi-auto shotgun, use buckshot.
    I don't read it like that... in the Special Regs Area, you can use a semi-auto with buckshot or slugs. Maybe the resident WCO will weigh in on this sooner or later...

(Montgomery County)

Quote Originally Posted by CL3 View Post