Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Default Recoil issues for a beginner

Hello Everyone,

I'm pretty new to the handgun scene, and have been going back and forth between a 9mm vs a .40. I've picked out a few solid options in both calibers, but as a novice in handguns I'd like some advice/opinions on the recoil of a typical .40 semi-auto

I will most likely not have the chance to go to the range prior to buying to test the two options out, so that's why I'm posting a thread on here. I've shot with a 38 special revolver and a .44mag revolver as reference points.

The upside for the .40 for me is the stopping power, the downside is the recoil and that the ammo is a little more pricey than 9mm. For a beginner who has never shot a .40, should I be concerned about the recoil in comparison to a 9mm? In your opinion would it be wiser to just go with a 9mm and learn to shoot it well? Will the stopping power of a 9mm be enough in a typical, say 1400sqft, home defense setting?

Thanks.

(Beaver County)

Default Re: Recoil issues for a beginner

Well this thread is going to turn into a caliber debate....

Neither will feel like a .44 mag. Depending on what gun you are looking at the .40 might have much more snap than the 9mm.

But I say go with 9mm. It is cheaper to shoot. For defensive purposes, the person wouldn't know the difference if he/she was hit with a 9mm or a .40. In my opinion, if you want more "power" than 9mm but don't wanna get a .45, then .357 Sig is the only way I would go.

What gun(s) are you looking at? Is this strictly home defense or do you plan on carrying as well?

Quote Originally Posted by chillafusion View Post
    Hello Everyone,

I'm pretty new to the handgun scene, and have been going back and forth between a 9mm vs a .40. I've picked out a few solid options in both calibers, but as a novice in handguns I'd like some advice/opinions on the recoil of a typical .40 semi-auto