Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Berks County)

Default Just put a deposit down on a Ruger SR9C

Hey everyone,

I am relatively new to the firearm scene. Been out shooting a few times and have tried out many different handguns, whether it be shooting them at a range or holding them at a store. I've been doing research on here and other websites so that I more or less knew what I was getting into. After trying out different models and talking to several people, it seemed as if a 9mm was the way to go, seeing as I'm just starting out. Ammo is relatively cheap and easy to find as well. It really came down to the S&W M and P series and the Ruger SR series. Tonight I was at my local shop (The Handgunner in Topton, PA, and for those of you who don't already know about it, great shop! Randy and his crew are some of the nicest and most helpful people I've ever met, and really took the time to explain everything to me). I was shown several models, but I narrowed my selection down to the M&P's and the Rugers. I thought I had my mind set on a standard sized 9mm, but out came the Ruger SR9C, and man that thing felt great in my hand, and to be honest wasn't much smaller than the standard SR9. What I really liked about the SR9C over the M&P was the fact that it had a safety on the slide, and a ready to fire indicator on top, along with two different sized magazines. The extended grip felt great in my hand, and the shorter magazine is great for concealing. The trigger on the SR9C felt much smoother in my opinion than on the M&P. So, after going in thinking I wanted a standard sized 9mm, I walked out with a deposit placed on the SR9C And at a not too shabby price either, which by the way was the best price I found in my entire area.