Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Northampton County)

Default Looking to buy a handgun, suggestions please?!

First off I would like to state that I am new to the forums. I have been a PA resident for a little over five years now. I already have my LTCF in PA and my dad and I have been to the range numerous times. I took the NRA basic pistol course and have been shooting my old mans Smith and Wesson M&P 9mm for about a year. I really like the Smith and Wesson. I have been renting other handguns at the range that I go to to get a feel for what I like.
    So far the two that have felt the best and I have also fired them with ease and precision are the Glock 19 Gen 3 and the CZ USA P07 Duty. I am looking for a carry gun but also a gun that will not be expensive to take to the range a couple times a month and practice. Any suggestions on the handguns I've mentioned. I also welcome input on other pistols that I haven't mentioned!

(Northampton County)

Default Re: Looking to buy a handgun, suggestions please?!

Eddie, It sounds like you are taking your new hobby very seriously. I carry the Glock 19 for work ( armored truck ) it is cheap to shoot and a great size. I would recommend the Glock 19 to any new shooter, I have never shot a CZ. Welcome to the forum. For concealed carry I also own a Glock 26 gen 4 which is slightly smaller than the 19, a lot depends on your clothing as far as what you can conceal. Start buying clothes a little bigger then you can carry just about any handgun you have.
    I commend you for starting off with training and renting different handguns before you put the cash on the counter, both are money well spent.

Good shooting and be safe.

(Allegheny County)

Glock 19 is a great carry / range / all purpose gun! I would recommend Glock to anyone. I own a 19 and a 17.