Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
    (Bucks County)

Default AR guys in here please

I'm going to look at some AR's today, though I've been shooting for over 30 years it'll be my first AR.
    What recommendations do you guys have that I should look at ?
    I'm limited financially & trying to stay around $700 (or less if possible) but might be able to go as high as $800.
    What manufacturers & models should I look at ?
    What features are important ?
    Thanks
    Jesus is Lord !

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: AR guys in here please

What's your plan for the AR?

Pick a primary and a secondary use:

1. Plinker
    2. Home defense
    3. Precision target
    4. CMP/NRA High Power competition
    5. Practical Shooting competition
    6. Hunting (outside of PA).

What you buy and how you equip it will depend on your answers.
    Toujours prêt

(Bucks County)

Do you plan on putting optics on it? If so, a flat-top is what you want. 1/9 twist barrels are the norm for 55gr to 62gr bullets. For most 100-200yrd shooting, a 16" barrel is fine, for longer range shooting I would get a 20". Chrome-lined barrels are good but give up some accuracy to Chrome-moly barrels. If you clean your guns like I do after every range trip, I would suggest the chrome-moly. Get an AR chamber brush. AR's run best wet(lubricated). Piston uppers are unnecessary for the avg shooter who cleans they're weapons regularly. I have a Stag and am happy with it.

(Allegheny County)

I'm just going to assume you want a M4 style rifle. That seems to be what most people are looking at when they just want an AR. If this is not accurate please elaborate.

For range use and plinking at around $650 the M&P sport is a good deal. You do give up the dust cover and FA. The FA could be needed in a possiable defensive situation. The dust cover not so much unless your job requires you to carry a rifle.

There is no universally accepted defensive AR for under $1k.