Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Concealed Carry in Philly

I have a valid LTCF out of Lackawanna county. I was recently told that in order to carry in Philly you need some special permit. After doing some research I cannot find anything that validates this point. My question is, does anyone know of such a law/regulation? Or does the LTCF cover me in philly for concealed carry?

(Lehigh County)

Default Re: Concealed Carry in Philly

Philly requires nothing except the LTCF. It can be issued from anywhere in Pennsylvania.

I am not a lawyer.
    There are stickies in the open and conceal carry sections which explain reciprocity and restricted areas to carry.

You can also check paopencarry.org

A PA LTCF issued in any county in PA is valid in Philly as well as in any other county in the state.

(Lehigh County)

I suggest reading everything here: http://forum.pafoa.org/open-carry-14...re-you-do.html

Everything.

it can't hurt to know it.

Also this http://reference.pafoa.org/statutes/...-philadelphia/

(Delaware County)

Read the above posted stickies, but, as previously stated, nothing other than a valid PA LTCF or a permit from a state with a reciprocity agreement is needed to carry either openly or concealed in Philadelphia. I live in a suburb outside the city and have a LTCF from my home county, but I carry in the city regularly, as do many others here on the forum.

Be aware of the draconian knife laws though in Philadelphia. Unless actively engaged in a "job or calling" that requires a knife, you may not possess one on city streets. There are no size/length exceptions. It's rarely enforced and I'm only aware of it being used as an add-on charge, but that doesn't mean that you couldn't be prosecuted if the wrong person noticed a knife clipped to your pocket.

(Of course, I am not a lawyer.)