Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Questions on the economics of reloading

Greetings all, various threads have talked about this subject, but since I am new to the concept and I don't know all that goes into reloading I want to get your opinions on whether handloading/reloading is economical for me and my particular situation. My question takes into account not only money, but also time necessary to dedicate. If it only saves me for example $0.05 a shot for rifle loads, it may not be the best for me to reload because of the time commitment.

First off I am a student, with lots of time needing to be spent studying, class related projects/events. Looking at about 40 hours a week at least. Then I work 4-12 hours a week, plus take care of the house etc. There are lots of things on my plate, but I still like to head out to the range, and the idea of being able to pump out 100 rounds in a 20 minute study break is pretty attractive.

I don't have a lot of money, so I am well familiar with buying in bulk and looking for deals.

There may be the opportunity to acquire some used reloading equipment free of charge (if I am lucky, a Hornady Lock and load AP), the only thing I would have to get would be the dies and whatever else is needed (I don't know what all that is, could use help here too). Reloading seems to be where the savings are but if I was also to reload, I imagine there would be more expense both in money and time acquiring the means to sort and clean brass?

The calibers I would consider handloading/reloading would be 7.62 x 54r, 7.62 x 39 (hunting loads) .303 British, 8mmJS, .308/7.62x51, .30-06, 9mm, 45 ACP, and 10mm Auto, and maybe 5.56x45.