Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default *Need Support*: New student 2A group - Building momentum to fight campus policy

I'm a senior student at Slippery Rock university, in the early stages of forming a Right to Keep and Bear club at Slippery Rock University on campus.

Had our first meeting last week, and are almost ready to file paperwork to get the group officially recognized by the University.

Then, with coincidental timing, Oct 5th a new weapons policy was announced:

SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. - The Slippery Rock University cabinet has approved a policy prohibiting weapons in University owned or operated buildings, except for those authorized to police.

The policy came about as a result of a mandate from the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education board of governors to develop a systemwide, consistent approach to weapons on campus.

Norton has initiated a comprehensive review of all University policies. She has tasked the University's vice presidents to review policies related to their areas and bring them to cabinet for institutional review. The plan is to have the policies eventually posted online for easier access.

The text of the weapons policy follows:

UNIVERSITY WEAPONS POLICY

POLICY

The possession or carrying of any weapon by any person is prohibited in academic buildings, administrative buildings, student residence buildings, dining facilities, recreational facilities, student centers, or while attending a sporting, entertainment, recreational or educational event on the university's property. Entry into these buildings, in violation of this prohibition, will result in the individual being directed to remove the weapon immediately from University property.

PROCEDURES