Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Cumberland County)

Default Rifle hunting tips

I'm new to hunting.

Just curious as to what scents and calls the rifle hunters use for deer since it is later in the season.

Also I just got a climbing stand and will be working public land. Does anyone leave their stands on public land or do you pack it in and out each day?

Thanks

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Rifle hunting tips

I use Tink's #1 Doe-P on some cotton patches, hanging from various tree branches spread out around my stand.

I set up a few ladder stands for me and my sons in WMU 3D and leave them in for the duration of the hunt. I lock the upper portion to the tree trunk with a cable lock and padlock the ladder sections together. If you wanted to leave your climber out there I guess you could also lock it to the base of a tree with a cable lock.
    Shooting is, as it has always been, the fabric of America!

(Berks County)

No scents no calls during rifle, just archery seasons.

(Lehigh County)

just the scent of pbj, and gunpowder, as for the call pull the trigger and call your buddies.

Rifle is a very different animal, then archery.
    Peace is that brief glorious moment in history when everybody stands around reloading.

(Franklin County)

no scents during rifle season. On public land i am not comfortable in a tree stand during rifle season,, Stray bullets you know. I have had a few wiz over my head before...
    In God We Trust............................

(Montgomery County)

Quote Originally Posted by A-5 View Post
    Rifle is a very different animal, then archery.

True.

First I assume you've taken the required hunter safety course?

Do you have a good safety harness if you plan on using a climber?

Are you only planning on hunting deer?

Are you hunting with any friends or are you hunting alone? Do you know how to field dress an animal?